January 20, 2007

Think With Me On A few Things�

First of all, I have missed writing to you. But there is a rule of life that seems never to fail. �The longer you put off doing something, the more difficult it becomes to do it.�

My life has been a little crazy these past few months. Well, not really crazy, but �different.

For several years, my days, or at the very least my weeks, have had spaces of time, which allowed for leisurely thinking, ruminating, writing, and �yes, posting journal entries. I have been accustomed to having one or two ideas for writing regularly drift across my thinking processes.

The second half of this year my life entered another season. I have not had �writer�s block�. I have seldom even given thought to writing. That is, except for regular pangs of guilt and neglect.

I have not struggled to write. I haven�t even sat down to write. And perhaps I took on far too much, with �Homespun Philosopher� and �Pilgrim�. (Journal and Blog)

So think with me about this. Perhaps I should only endeavor to keep going on one of them. (I am not making this decision just yet, I am pondering the possibilities.) H.P. has been my pioneer venture, and has about one-third more readers than Pilgrim. H.P. is a general journal. By that I mean, I write on just about any type of subject, and it tends to be less serious (in my opinion) than Pilgrim. Pilgrim was established for me to be able to freely write on deeply felt issues. I gave my Notify List, the option of not being added to that list if they did not want to be included in that type of forum.

I was pleased with the positive response to be included, but there are still a lot of you on this list who opted out on that one.

I don�t want to lose touch with you�any of you. But I think I prefer the Pilgrim format. If I switched to writing that one only, it would include both casual writing and some of the issues about which I feel deeply. In fact, I have one ready, which I wrote today, but am going to wait a few days and ponder posting it. (It is sort of a political subject.) I am not sure just why I hesitate, because a person is certainly free to write whatever they desire on their own blog�but we all have our insecurities. And when criticized, I tend to shut down and hide. I tend to be very passionate about issues, but not very bold. (Maybe that is one of the reasons I have high blood pressure?)

I also know how inundated we all are with everything that is sent our way over the Internet. I guess that is one purpose of blogs. They tend to be briefer than some journals.

I noticed a long time ago, that when I type �Homespun Philosopher� into Google, my journal is the first thing that pops up. So yesterday, I typed in �Pilgrim�. To my dismay, there are dozens of things with the name Pilgrim; my blog not being one of them. (I am grinning.)

So what�s a person to do? I would love to hear from you concerning all this. What do you think?


So, O.K.. What are some of these changes in my life?

Well, this isn�t going to sound like that much. But I think I shared with you that my daughter and her little family were moving into my home with me. That has happened. The plan has been that we will either stay here and make some remodels to accommodate our lifestyles and needs, or look around for something which is already available. We have explored both options, and at present, are settling on the first one. My home is a little too small to give them the privacy that they need.

In the midst of all this�readjusting, settling in, new schools for grandson and one for daughter (a teacher)�son-in-law off and running (literally all over the country) in his work�we had the holidays�You get the picture.

Oh, did I mention regarding the holidays, they spent Christmas to New Years week in Colorado? In the Denver to Colorado Springs area? Do you remember the weather conditions that week? Their travel plans were a little touch and go, but they had a marvelous experience.

Anyway, this has been my letter from home�or rather, California�to each of you. Not very literary, but from my heart.

Let me know what you think. Should I try to just get off onto a better footing and write in both web pages whenever? Should I choose one and include various subjects - casual, stories, issues, etc. on that single one? If so�.which? And if it became Pilgrim, should I combine the two Notify Lists (without duplication, of course.)

This is pretty scary, because I know I won�t be able to please everybody, but I want to know your true feelings before I decide.




Email me to leave me comments

<< previous next >>


back to top



Text � copyright 2003 - 2008 The Homespun Philosopher



This site designed by

2008