April 10, 2003 6:32 P.M.

A Little About Me

When I read a journal, I always want to know a little about the author. Most journals have a �bio� page, but I haven�t figured out how that works here. I am just getting my feet wet, and learning more about journaling, day by day.

I will write a short little synopsis of �me�. I am a newly retired grandmother of four, and mother of three grown �children� � two sons and a daughter. I grew up in Louisville, Kentucky, but have lived in southern California since I was a young mother with an 18 month old son.

It took me a lot of years, before I felt at home in CA. I missed the seasons, the �back east� countryside with its forests, and rivers and gentle manners.

But, finally I am at home. I had to develop �eyes to see� the incredible beauty of the desert. I took the photo on the previous journal page while driving from Flagstaff down to Phoenix, AZ. A storm was brewing over the Arizona desert, just as the sun was setting.

Mt. Shasta, CA

I have come to appreciate the strong arms of the mountains, wrapping themselves protectively around valleys and plateaus. I rarely encounter a broad flowing river, but instead, I get excited when I see an arroyo in a barren place, providing enough water to give life to a stand of cottonwoods, sycamores, or lacy mesquite trees growing out of the inhospitable adobe sand.

Out west, weather and terrain make major changes, not so much depending on geographical latitude, but upon altitude. Driving from one micro-climate into another, climbing upward from desert sagebrush, to scrub junipers, on to the �timberline� of a full blown pine forest, - is exhilarating. Needless to say, I place �road trips� at the top of my list of favorite things.

I have always been an avid reader but have had some major changes in my personal lifestyle. In recent years, I have developed macular degeneration in first one eye, and then the other. It is medically stabilized at the present, but reading a book and seeing details with my central vision is just about out of the question. So I am replacing my large paper library, with many audio books. One of my sons has set up the formatting on my computer to meet my needs, and he installed magnification programs so I can enjoy hours and hours of reading, writing and �surfing�.

I am just beginning to discover the delights of growing a container flower garden on my patio. At present, I can sit on my old-fashioned porch swing, plump up the pillows, and gather in the glory of spring blossoms just beginning to show their faces.

There is so much more I think of writing here, but if you choose to come back and visit, I am sure I will have a lot to tell.

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com




Email me to leave me comments

<< previous next >>


back to top



Text � copyright 2003 - 2008 The Homespun Philosopher



This site designed by

2008