July. 02, 2004 10:26 P.M.

Now I Remember Why People Love California�

Lake Tahoe, California/Nevada: June, 2004

We were in Reno for almost a month, as my daughter was an out-patient in a diagnostic clinic. We had a little time between treatments to do some sightseeing. Reno is just a short drive from the historic Gold Rush mining town of Virginia City (made household-familiar during the �Bonanza� years); the Nevada State Capitol, Carson City; and one of the world�s most beautiful resorts, Lake Tahoe. I took a couple hundred photos during the time I was there and will share a select few with you. Choosing just the right ones will not be an easy task.

In late June, winter�s deposit of snow still frosted the mountain peaks and rested in protective hollows along the road as we wound our way up from the Nevada desert.

Snow on the mountains, water skiing behind fast boats, bike riding trails through thick forest, down to the water�s edge�warm summer breezes encouraging a stroll through one of the villages�and a prime rib dinner at Caesar�s Resort on the Nevada rim of the lake. All were available to visitors�and MUCH more.

And then there is Emerald Bay�


Last year I attended a conference in Sacramento. We had opportunity to take a couple of sightseeing tours during meeting downtimes. We went on a boat ride up the Sacramento River and heard even more about the California Gold Rush than we had previously known. We also toured the California State Capitol bilding.

While waiting in line outside the front portico of the Capitol, a couple from the mid-west standing next to us commented,� The trees are so incredibly tall. I have never seen such height in trees.�

I looked up at the surrounding huge trees, most of which were deciduous varieties grown all over the country. They seemed to be several stories high as they reached up the sides of the Capitol building.

I knew that the tallest trees in the world grow near here in the Sequoia Forests. But I had not noticed that even the �normal� trees, growing in parks and on city streets, were amazingly tall. They semed to reach right up into the clouds. It took the amazement of a couple from the Midwest to call this to my attention.

Sometimes we �can�t see the forest, for the trees�. We are surrounded by beauty and wonder, wherever we live. During the Ronald Reagan memorial services here in Simi Valley, the TV news commentators frequently remarked about the beauty of this area. They seemed to be enchanted with the vistas, the mountains and the valleys.

I normally think of this area as somewhat barren and unappealing. As I listened to their glowing remarks about the beauty of the location, I determined to see my �hometown� with new eyes.

(To Be Continued)


PHRASE CATCHER

�Church and State may be separate, but faith and politics are not. This started with George Washington.� (Time Magazine)



join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:

email:

Powered by NotifyList.com




Email me to leave me comments

<< previous next >>


back to top



Text � copyright 2003 - 2008 The Homespun Philosopher



This site designed by

2008