February 21, 2004 3:19 P.M.

Sometimes I Feel Like a �Techno-Geek!�

Actually, I guess I am a Techno-geek�s target.

Picture This: I am working in my bedroom, making the bed and tidying up. My morning cup of coffee sits steaming on my dresser. As I work, I am listening to the morning computer messages from various journals and message boards being streamed back to me in a polished female electronic voice. I have copied and pasted the contents of several of my favorites into the �Text Aloud� reader on my computer. When I am finished straightening up the room, I will sit down at my computer for a while, and read a couple of chapters from a just published biography. The book was downloaded yesterday into my Microsoft Reader. Some of these books are audible. This one is not. So I will be reading it with my magnification program, which enables me to read anything on my computer as I trace it with my cursor. I have done this long enough now, that I can do it without looking at the cursor.

Last night as I climbed into my electronic bed, I used remotes to raise the head into a reclining position so I could switch on my T.V, set to turn off in about an hour if I drift off to sleep. With another remote I can switch the radio/stereo on and off, adjust the settings, and turn off the lamp sitting next to it.

Am I spoiled or what! There are SO many wonderful things created to meet people�s needs these days. I count my blessings!

Oh, by the way, I am also reading (on tape) the latest John Grisham Book, �The Last Juror�. So far, I like it a whole lot better than the previous legal novel he last wrote. Its setting is a small town in the heart of Mississippi. And the main character is a young editor of the local newspaper; instead of the usual lawyer, which Grisham is so apt to feature.

I enjoy �reading� while I am on my treadmill. The time passes so quickly�I find that I am much more likely to exceed my minimum time limit for exercising.

If this all sounds great�it is! But I would MUCH rather be able to jump in my car and go someplace without being dependent on others.

Count YOUR blessings!


Photo of a local hawk soaring high overhead. My son Mike took this last month with his new Canon �Rebel�. He loves to go �birding� and capture photos of wildlife. We have a large variety of hawks and eagles in this area.


This is going to be mercifully brief today.

Thanks for reading. It helps me to learn and grow!




join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:

email:

Powered by NotifyList.com




Email me to leave me comments

<< previous next >>


back to top



Text � copyright 2003 - 2008 The Homespun Philosopher



This site designed by

2008