February 06, 2004 11:27 P.M.

Life Changes

I am going to share something which could be life changing for you or a friend. It has been for me.

If you have been reading this journal for some time, you have heard me mention that I have often had to fight against a general feeling of sadness. It has been that way as far back as I can remember. I just supposed that it was my basic temperament, and that it was normal for me. I never have sunk into clinical depression, but often have to struggle my way up to a �happy feeling�, unless, of course, some really happy circumstance took place.

Several months ago, I started taking an Omega 3 fish oil supplement to encourage better cardiovascular health. I had no idea that a wonderful side benefit of this would be an increased sense of well being and that I would get to the place of not having to fight against that general sad feeling.

I take 2 of these 500 mg capsules daily. They are enteric coated so there is no �fishy� taste or �repeat�. I actually am surprised at times by a sense of well being that is probably normal to most folk, but has not been, to me. A bonus�they are very inexpensive!

I have since heard several reports on local news telecasts, that there have been extensive clinical tests performed with Omega 3 fish oils as a possible replacement for anti-depressants, and they have been very successful. I find it amazing. It has something to do with the �fatty� chemistry make-up of the brain.

I have the URL�s of several of these studies if anyone is interested, and I could email them to you. Seems it all began when note was taken of the much lower incidence of depression in �fish eating� countries, such as Japan.

Be sure and check out the little �Homespun Philosopher� button below. It was created for me by Ann, of The View from Here.

Another change which was supposed to take place today�didn�t.

I have a built-in stove and oven, - original appliances in the house. It is time to buy new ones, and I did so recently. They were supposed to be delivered last Monday, but it was raining the day before, and the installer called and rescheduled for today, just in case the rain didn�t stop. But it did. The day of the original appointment was bright and sunny.

It just so happened that I also had a new front screen door scheduled to be installed today, so I envisioned a mess of confusion between the two installers, going in and out. I rose early, dressed and waited. About noon, the stove man called and said that his truck was broken down. He would try to get here as soon as possible. I waited four more hours, and then just about dinnertime, he called and said, sorry, and rescheduled for next Monday.

I was going to show you some photos of before and after in the kitchen. Guess that is out of the question for now.

Oh yes, I did get the new screen door. It is lovely. Well, that may be stretching it, but it IS an improvement over the old one.

I will let you know if �stove man� shows up on Monday.

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:

email:

Powered by NotifyList.com




Email me to leave me comments

<< previous next >>


back to top



Text � copyright 2003 - 2008 The Homespun Philosopher



This site designed by

2008