January 30, 2004 8:35 P.M.

Happy Wanderer


I mentioned a couple of entries back, that I �collected electronic Road photos.� Guess I am a frustrated Happy Wanderer-wannabe. I can just sit and read maps for hours. I dream of all the places on the map and �wonder. I would rather take a road trip than just about anything.

Looking at this photo, you can easily understand why traditional southwestern colors are basically turquoise, sand, and coral.

Today I am in a rambling mood. You never know what form these entries are going to take. Often, I write an essay; sometimes poetry (or the semblance thereof), sometimes a �travelogue�, and sometimes I just ramble. At times I mix it up a little. That is fun.

The last several days have been gorgeous in southern California. Brilliant sunshine, clear skies, warm and inviting temperatures. Today I invited the warm breezes to flow through open windows, and watered my patio flowers in bare feet. This is what beckons folk to move to California. That, and our beautiful mountains.

I complain about a lot of things in California, but never do I complain about the mountains.

Tehachapi Mountain Park; taken by Brandy England, January, 2004.

Tomorrow is the one year anniversary of the Space Shuttle Disaster which caught fire, and burned upon its re-entry. To honor that day and the courageous men and women who lost their lives, I am going to post a portion of my June 9 entry of last year.

I had attended a women�s conference in Anaheim, California, which featured several inspirational speakers. There were over 6,000 women in attendance and not a sound could be heard as the widow of the Commander on that tragic flight, told her personal story. This is a small excerpt.


�Evelyn Husband quietly described how she and her two small children had awakened the morning of the shuttle�s return to earth, and had prepared for its landing. She told how excited they had all been to watch the sunrise over the Florida coastline, as they dressed for the adventure of watching the shuttle landing.

Evelyn poignantly related the details of excitement turning to shock as the giant clock at the Space Center counted down the minutes until the landing was to occur, and�the eerie terror filled silence of the vacuum, when it came time for �touchdown�, and the clock started counting back again.

In the ensuing days and weeks, when she was thrust into the public�s spotlight time and time again�this ordinary homemaker/mom who �happened� to be the Commander�s wife, who was struggling with her own indescribable grief and loss�Evelyn was called a woman of great stamina and courage by many.

But she knew how to give credit where credit is due. She knew her own weakness, and she knew Who was strong. That night at the Anaheim Convention Center as she was sharing her story, she gave her own definition of courage.

She said simply; �Courage, is fear on its knees, in prayer.�

Thanks for taking a little of your valuable time to sit and visit with me through my words. I hope you get to know me better as you read. I appreciate you.

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:

email:

Powered by NotifyList.com




Email me to leave me comments

<< previous next >>


back to top



Text � copyright 2003 - 2008 The Homespun Philosopher



This site designed by

2008