November 22, 2003 1:54 P.M.

A Sermon to Myself



This time of year�


�is the time of choosing. Choosing what I will do with what I have to work with�the essential elements for happiness, which I have in my life right now. Choosing the memories, which will lift me up instead of the ones, which will bring me down.

The long shadows of the season give opportunity to slow down and remember. Not to simply remember holidays of the past, but to remember what is important in my life now. To remember real values and not false ones. To remember who I am, and why I am here, as best I know.

The next few weeks will be filled with gratitude and giving, if I choose correctly.

A string of words comes to mind, all beginning with �G�.

Gratitude � Grumbling

Gentle � Gruff

Grow Up � Grow In

Gracious � Grating

Giving � Getting


In America, we have a holiday which kind of gets us prepared for the upcoming Christmas holidays�if we use it properly.

Gratitude is the key element in happiness. And that is what Thanksgiving is supposed to be about. I think, if I can hang on to the attitude of gratitude�as I approach Christmas, it will color my world in a brighter way.

I have mentioned before, that I tend to be melancholy. But I am beginning to believe, that I have to make choices in this area too. Choices not to begin to drift into that state of mind.

Okay, here is an alliteration for you: Gratitude Gently Grows into Gracious Giving. That ought to do it.


I took one of those �internet I.Q. Tests� yesterday. It said I am an �analytical/linguist�. Guess that fits me to a �T�. (Where did that expression originate?)

See � there, I did it. Perfect example.


We are going to enjoy the Thanksgiving holiday at my daughter�s again. But this time she is not going to be cooking the traditional meal, because we are going back up to Mt. Charleston for a couple of days, and the family dinner will be taken at the lodge/restaurant atop the mountain.


May all of you, have a Blessed Thanksgiving filled with gratitude and joy as we begin to enter in to this Holiday Season!


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:

email:

Powered by NotifyList.com




Email me to leave me comments

<< previous next >>


back to top



Text � copyright 2003 - 2008 The Homespun Philosopher



This site designed by

2008