October 09, 2003 12:33 A.M.

"I would like to believe when I die that I have given myself away like a tree that sows seed every spring and never counts the loss, because it is not loss, it is adding to future life. It is the tree's way of being. Strongly rooted perhaps, but spilling out its treasure on the wind."

May Sarton

Over her entire lifetime, May Sarton gave herself away in the words of her novels, journals, and letters. She was an incredibly prolific writer.

I believe there is something in the heart of every writer, which is driven to empty its contents into the hearts and minds of others via the written word. It is a desire to be known and understood; to feel you have not lived in vain. The need to know that what the writer has learned will not be wasted but passed on to another.

And the reader is most enthusiastic about the text when there is an �aha� moment. That is a moment when the writer puts into words, something the reader already knew, but had not realized or expressed.



Recently, I heard a radio personality make a statement with which I immediately identified. He said, �One of the reasons I get involved in doing all the things that I do, is because basically I am lazy. I commit to things in order to combat this tendency.�

I think that is one of the reasons I have committed to writing this journal. It is an area of responsibility, which keeps me from the edge of idleness at times, and I feel a commitment to continue with it. At least for the present.

Having said that, this particular entry will be mercifully brief, as I am preparing to go out of town for a few days. And I will not be back on-line for about a week.

This past weekend I went up to the Ventura County Fair Grounds to enjoy the Harvest Festival.

Last year I attended for the first time, and all year I have looked forward to returning again.

In the Salinas Valley of California, the town of Gilroy is known as the �garlic capitol of California�. Passing through town, you cannot miss the pungent odor of the fields of garlic growing there.

The Harvest Festival is where a person can admire, taste and purchase unusual items. I discovered one of those �items� at the �Gilroy Garlic Festival� booth.

It is a condiment�sort of a spread or glaze�which is like chopped apple preserves, sweet and tangy, with a very strong hint of garlic stirred in. Sort of a sweet apple-garlic relish. Now before you turn away in disgust, �I sampled it and LOVED it. It is wonderful, spread on a Ritz with cream cheese! After eating it for several days at home, I went on-line and ordered 3 more jars. I seriously doubted that I would be able to find it in the market!

Well, have a wonderful week, and I hope to bring back photos of some mountains which I bet most of you are not even aware of. I wasn�t until a few years ago. That will keep you guessing!


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:

email:

Powered by NotifyList.com




Email me to leave me comments

<< previous next >>


back to top



Text � copyright 2003 - 2008 The Homespun Philosopher



This site designed by

2008