September 29, 2003 6:01 P.M.

Time and Other Intangibles


Photo by Adam Jones, Louisville


Boy! I just read over the paragraphs below, and they sound like a real �downer�. I sure don�t want that to be true. I don�t mean for them to sound that way. But lately when I hear people expressing either of two certain phrases�it really bothers me. They say they are just �killing time�, or doing something to �pass the time away�.

Now I know that we all use these phrases without thought, �all of our lives. It has only been recently that I �hear� them with different ears, and I do know why.


Do you know the reason time seems to go by so slowly for a child, seeming to fly faster with every passing year as they become adults? It is not just an illusion, or that we are �getting old�. It is because of the ratio of the 24-hour period, or a year, to the whole of a person�s life. When you are 7 years old, a year is one seventh of your entire life. But when you are 70, it is one seventieth of your life.

It would be incredible if we could realize, early in life, that �the journey is the destination.� Perhaps we would see time in a different light. Instead of longing for something to come only in the future, we would experience the NOW of life. But, this is a grown-up concept. It is a reality difficult for most of us to consistently actualize.


  • Passing Time

  • Losing Time

  • Wasting Time

  • Killing Time

  • Spending Time

  • Utilizing Time

  • Gaining Time

  • Investing Time

  • Saving Time

  • Redeem the time


There are many more. Wasting time is something that happens almost unnoticed. But killing, or just passing time away, seems to be a deliberate choice�at the least, an attitude. I am guilty of both. That is what bothers me.

It is ironic that just at the stage of life when we have more time than ever before available to utilize in our daily routines, we are in the greatest danger of wasting it because there is so little structure to conform to.

I don�t believe that all daydreaming and meditation are a waste of time. This is part of the healing and growth of one�s soul. This is not an active choice to �pass or kill� time.

Frequently we are caught in the grip of circumstances where we have no choice but to kill time. (A line at a service window, a waiting room, traffic jams) I am learning to try to be more prepared for such, with reading or listening material.

Well, this is just something I have been thinking about. (When I am �meditating� of course, not just wasting time!)

Did I tell you that I purchased a new computer system? I guess I will brag a little and list the details.

GATEWAY COMPUTER

Processor: Intel Pentium 4 � 3.06 GHz (gigahertz)

Memory: 512mb of DDR Ram

Hard Drive: 250 GB (gigabyte)

Multimedia: DVD player & DVD Multi Recorder

Monitor: 18� LCD Flat Panel Display

Video: 128mb NVIDA GeForce 4

Sound: Sound Blaster

Speakers: Boston Acoustics w/ subwoofer

If some of this copied incorrectly, I wouldn�t know the difference. I don�t understand any of it. I just know it is incredibly fast, especially with a DSL line, and the monitor has the brightest, sharpest picture I have ever seen.

One of these days, I may try to get a little more fancy with my web page. I may even try an �editor�. But so far, I have had fun just learning a little html. If I had known how much you have to learn, just to do a little formatting of the text, I probably would never have had the courage to attempt doing a journal. Ignorance is bliss, right? So I am glad I didn�t know ahead of time.

I do like to keep it simple and clear for reading however. So I may not try to mess with things.

Thanks for reading. I hope to see you again, soon.

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:

email:

Powered by NotifyList.com




Email me to leave me comments

<< previous next >>


back to top



Text � copyright 2003 - 2008 The Homespun Philosopher



This site designed by

2008