August 04, 2003 10:26 P.M.

I Am a Watcher At This Window*

I am still a window gazer. I often do my best thinking that way. These days when I lean my elbows on the top of the dresser under my bedroom window, this is the little corner of the garden which catches my eye.

This little corner is a �work in progress�. It has gone through a number of stages over the years � of growing various types of plants. All of which had �passed away� by last winter. So this Spring, I started from scratch and began to establish new plants, little by little. It is still in its infancy, and a tree of some variety is planned for the center rear �maybe next year.


*See April 8, 2003 entry



I have lived in this house for many years, but never before this summer have I enjoyed my patio as I am learning to do. First I began to develop a container garden on the patio, then I learned to enjoy my �Grandma swing�, and now I am working on getting some new patio furniture. This week these chairs and small table were added. They are so comfortable, it is a difficult decision�whether to stretch out in a chair, or relax in the swing. Life is good.




I will be going to my daughter�s home in Las Vegas for a little vacation, leaving this Friday. So this will be my last writing until I return in a couple of weeks. I should have some new photos and thoughts to share.

Daughter and her family just returned home from a vacation through the mountains of Utah, �Sundance�, and then over to the Black Hills where they saw Mt. Rushmore. Then back southwest to Estes Park, Colorado for a few days of fishing and relaxation in the mountains. On to the Boulder/Denver area to visit friends and family, and then back across the Rockies through Glenwood Canyon , staying near Aspen, and finally on home. If it sounds hectic, she said it was just the opposite. Extremely relaxing.




I just finished re-reading some of the original archived entries of this journal. It is amazing how much I preach sermons to my own self. I used to teach inspirational classes to various groups, and I would let the students in on a little secret. Many times, and especially in my own case�the lesson being taught, is the one the teacher is struggling to learn for her/himself. Much of the time, the topic at hand was the fruit of personal study, struggle and research regarding a growth period in my own development or understanding.

Lately, I have not been doing much preaching to myself. And I feel like the �well is getting dry.� I gotta be on the alert for some new sermons. But always know, that they are primarily directed back at my own life. It just helps to establish the lesson learned, if it can be verbalized and shared with others.

Thanks for reading. It helps me learn and grow!


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:

email:

Powered by NotifyList.com




Email me to leave me comments

<< previous next >>


back to top



Text � copyright 2003 - 2008 The Homespun Philosopher



This site designed by

2008