July 31, 2003 10:50 A.M.

�You don�t get rid of a life just because it is banged up a little.�

We watched as this principle was worked out in every life which this classic film brought together. If there ever was a recipe of living ingredients pulled together out of hard times, and stirred into a dish of chills of happy excitement, �this is it! It displays the American human spirit at its best. It�s a keeper. And if you are a collector, add it to an accessible place in your library.

It was sort of like visiting an orphanage. We slowly walked up and down each row, stepping carefully to be sure we didn�t trip over anything in our paths. Some had fallen over and needed to be pulled back to an upright position. But they all just sat there hopefully waiting to be chosen and taken home. It was difficult to decide. There was no hurry. We took our time.

We inquired as to proper care and feeding and received excellent suggestions.

And in the end, we chose a small �Queen Palm�, and this beautiful little floribunda rose, called �Marmalade Nights�. Yesterday the gardener tucked them neatly into their new little beds, where I think they will be comfortable.

Now I understand why they call the place a �Nursery�.

Downhome Matters

A young friend of mine observing at close vantage point, the �growing pains� of her own little boy and others in close relationship to her, made this ponderable statement the other day.

�The longer I live---the more I believe it is actually a difficult task for a little boy to grow into a man. I think, sometimes, the tender side of a boy's heart isn't encouraged enough.�

I thought that was worth sharing with you.

Been doing summer things and getting ready for autumn. This week the carpets were cleaned, windows washed inside and out, and the garage is to be cleaned this weekend for an upcoming yard sale. It is very needed. I have a �bonus� room in the rear of my garage which has become my attic, and has overflowed into the garage itself. It is beginning to look like �Dagwood�s Closet.� (For those of you old enough to remember.)

Stay safe, keep reading, and do go see �Seabiscuit�. You�ll be glad you did.

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:

email:

Powered by NotifyList.com




Email me to leave me comments

<< previous next >>


back to top



Text � copyright 2003 - 2008 The Homespun Philosopher



This site designed by

2008