June 25, 2003 10:45 P.M.

The Novice

Sometimes I think that I am a little crazy for trying to learn some new tricks, as old a dog as I am. But since I started writing this �journal� page (I use that term loosely, because it is not a �journal� in the truest sense.)�in February or March�I keep trying to learn how to work with html. I could just use the templates and settings which Diaryland has provided, and it would be a relatively simple thing. But I would not be satisfied with that. I have always loved messing around with graphics in table-top computer programs, but have had NO experience with html and web pages�none at ALL.

Most people my age either �veg� or come up with some hobby or outside stimulus for an activity. I guess this has become somewhat of a hobby for me. I know that you creative folk with many hobbies in addition to your web pages, are miles ahead of me. I have never been very good with - or frankly�interested in doing - �crafty things�; although I greatly admire others who do, and who are able to put out professional quality products. My �homemade� stuff, just looks homemade!

I suppose that if I had known, that the �simple and easy� web page, even at Diaryland, required a smattering of html, I would have balked even longer than I did at getting started. I mean, I never dreamed that I would not be able to BOLD text, or italicize a word, without using html tags. Nor did I know that you cannot type a simple poem with line breaks, without html tags for spacing. Nor did I realize that centering, text wrapping, bordering, etc., etc., etc., ALL require html�even in Diaryland. I guess I thought I would just type, copy and paste.

Because I would never be satisfied without �sprucing it up a little�, and without adding some graphics, I am really working at figuring out some of the more simple of these processes. I appreciate that I have had a couple of good friends offer help when I needed it.

I just bought a new HP printer/scanner/copier/FAX machine this week, and the picture above is the only �scan tester� I have done so far. It was a Mother�s Day card from my daughter. (Note the black border, - ahem!)

And now, I am trying to learn �tables� and bordering. Well, - here goes.

TA DA!

This past weekend, we went for a little drive out to the Antelope Valley to see if the early summer crops of black cherries and apricots were in. We were driving home after making our purchases, and spontaneously decided to turn off on one of those �winding roads� which I spoke of in my last entry.

The freeway was one we had driven �a million� times, and it appeared to be flanked on either side by brown desert hills, and a sandy dry river bed. Not very attractive terrain.

We started down the side road, and almost immediately were stunned to find ourselves on a drive through a lush wooded area with elegant and estate sized homes. Each home seemed to grow more palatial than the previous, and the properties were bounded by tennis courts, and English style gardens. As we passed the lavish estates and gated communities, we were compelled to slow to a crawl and drink in the scenery with our mouths agape! What was so impacting, was that it was almost immediately beyond the freeway and should have been visible in our frequent commutes. It was like a hidden forest.

It got better. We turned a corner and discovered forested hills and canyons of a County Park, which we didn�t even know existed. The foothills and mountains were thick with trees. Now, the hills around Los Angeles, are just NOT covered with trees. Not until you climb up to about 5,000 feet elevation. We checked, and this was about 1,600 feet high. The trees were not pine and evergreen; they were oaks, and other leafy trees�but very thick. This circled for several miles, and then crossed back under the same freeway we had exited. We had the feeling of having entered �The Twilight Zone�, and come back out again. How this area could have been so near, and we knew nothing of it�was a puzzle.

Placerita Canyon County Park

Recently I read, �Serenity is knowing when to let go. Joy is knowing what to embrace.�

Thanks for being there.

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:

email:

Powered by NotifyList.com




Email me to leave me comments

<< previous next >>


back to top



Text � copyright 2003 - 2008 The Homespun Philosopher



This site designed by

2008