June 03, 2003 5:56 P.M.

Grandma�s 10 Ground Rules for Driving Safely

My oldest granddaughter started driving this year. That is a �coming of age� for her, but I think also for me. Actually, I have had a LOT of �coming of age� things this year, (but we won�t go there.)

She knew that I was going to sell my car, and asked if she could buy it. I was delighted that she would have it. I had babied it a lot over the years and loved driving it myself. But I sneaked something into the front seat for her to read. I don�t think she minded, because she is a really cool gal and wants to be a good driver.

Now I know that �grandmas� traditionally are not the most popular people on the highway, but we have earned the right to put in �our two cents worth.� I guess.

Anyway, the following is what I compiled and left for her to read.

Remember�these are not basic driving instructions�just �Grandma�s Rules�. Little extras that I feel have kept me safe, accident free, and ticketless for (I will never tell how many) years of driving.

1. Never, never, never tailgate. Tailgating is driving close enough behind the vehicle in front of you, so that you could not stop safely in a quick braking situation. The old "rule-of-thumb" distance measurement is one car length for every 10 miles an hour you are driving. (Approximately 6 car lengths at 60 mph.) Other impatient drivers will often cut in front of you if there is that much space. Let them. Just let up on the gas a little until you get some distance again.

This may be the No. 1 rule of safe driving in traffic.

It is far better to arrive late, than to arrive dead. (A Grandmaism)

2. Slow down just a little bit when approaching intersections, even if you have the green light. Slow down just enough to be cautious, not enough to slow traffic behind you. Glance to the right and left a little bit, because you never know when some nut is about to sail right through a red light or stop sign.

3. You have no idea how much distance it takes to bring a big heavy car to a complete stop, until you have experienced it for a while. My dad taught me that at the beginning of my driving experience.

4. ALWAYS keep your eyes ahead, unless you are turning or backing up. Things can happen so quickly you can't believe it. When you are talking to someone in the car, do not look at them when you talk. They can hear you just fine while you keep your eyes on the road.

5. If you are not sure just how fast to drive on a freeway, or out on the highway in traffic, (of course the speed limit rules, but�) there are times when the best thing is to just keep with the flow of the traffic, and if you are uncomfortable going that fast, slow down a little and stay in the right hand lane. In many states it is against the law to drive in the left-hand lane unless you are passing or in heavy divided highway traffic. I don't think that is a law here in CA, but it is still a good idea. I guess on a three lane (each way) freeway, the middle lane is the best place to be for through traffic. The right lanes frequently turn off, or there is merging traffic. The fast lanes need to be open for passing.

6. Always drive defensively. Ask your Mom or Dad what that means.

7. Get in the habit of checking your mirrors frequently to know what is coming up around you, and ALWAYS use your turn signal when changing lanes or turning. (If your turn signal starts blinking funny and fast�faster than is normal�it usually means you have a bulb burned out in your light and should be checked. This is easy to fix.)

8. Plan your moves ahead of time, as much as is possible. I mean, quickly think out your route before you are there, or plan a little ahead for a turn, etc. Sometimes it is better to go on past a turn, turn around and come back and do it right, than to abruptly make a move which might cause an accident.

9. Never drive at a speed greater than you are comfortable with and feel safe driving, even if it is less than others are going. The most important thing is that you are in total control of the car. Driving is not a "Right" that a person has, it is a Privilege, and it can be taken away through carelessness. Because it is a Privilege, it carries great responsibilities for the lives of others and yourself. Never take that for granted.

10. Care for your car, so it can keep you safe. Give it regular checkups, and lots of "food" (water, gas, oil, air in tires, etc.) A good car is your best friend. Value the friendship.

Well, there they are. You may take issue with some of them. That�s okay. I just want my precious Granddaughter to take this responsibility seriously. It is a matter of life and death.

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:

email:

Powered by NotifyList.com




Email me to leave me comments

<< previous next >>


back to top



Text � copyright 2003 - 2008 The Homespun Philosopher



This site designed by

2008