May 20, 2003 4:00 P.M.

Told You So!

Redrocks National Preserve near Las Vegas. Photo by Marcia.

Okay, you have to read yesterday�s entry to properly understand what I am about to say. I told you I had better �write it down� and why�well, last night was a different story! I had gone to bed and just started to doze, when I began to get the "twitches and itches" ...ever have those? Then I developed a tickle in my throat. I had to get water and a cough drop for that. I began to doze off again (after a difficult time doing so), when I just about had the stuffing scared out of me. I have this tiny pocket radio that has an alarm on it which sounds like an air raid siren in the middle of Baghdad! It has the most unbelievably shrill, piercing sound. The clock on/off settings are too tiny for me to be able to easily read...so here I am dozing off, and..... "SHREEEKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKK" - this thing starts screaming. It had been set for 1:A.M. (? must be a default.) and the overly sensitive "on" button had been breathed on!

I jumped out of bed, but still half asleep and in semi-darkness...couldn't locate the dang thing. It was buried down in the bottom of a purse. FINALLY, I found it. I frantically pushed every visible button and switch on the radio, over and over, all to no avail � until I discovered that it was locked "on". (So you could not accidentally turn it off. Right!) After about 5 minutes of this - sound like a smoke alarm - going off in my ears (the volume, which was turned UP, was also locked. Of course!) ....I finally got it turned off. This was just before I was ready to throw it out the window. And a lot of good that would have done. Would have only awakened the whole neighborhood!

I stood there exhausted looking at that tiny electronic device (2� X 4�). I was in total disbelief that a sound that ear-shattering could possibly come from something so small.

This A.M. I fixed it! I took super glue and glued the button so it can NEVER accidentally turn on and scream at me in the middle of the night again. (NOW...I am worried that perhaps I have glued it in the "on" position because I can�t see the icon on the tiny screen.)

Guess I will find out tonight.

�Justathought�

Several months ago, I was in a group of people who wrote down a list of the things that are a �natural high� to them. This was my list, written spontaneously.

Seeing a baby or small child.

A good �belly laugh�.

That first cup of coffee in the morning.

Getting happy personal mail.

Taking a drive on a pretty day.

Hearing your favorite song on the radio.

Favorite latte, mocha, or other coffee drink from a coffee house.

A trip to the mountains.

Being with my family.

A good conversation.

Finding an unexpected $20 bill in a pocket or purse.

Laughing at yourself.

A terrific seafood dinner.

Walking through the park.

Lunch or dinner with a good friend or family.

Sharing happy memories.

Traveling across the American countryside..

Being able to help someone with a problem.

Waking up and realizing you do not have to get up right away.

Reading a good book.

A good country breakfast.

A cold, deep drink of water when thirsty.

Fried chicken.

Road trips with friends or family.

Swinging on a porch swing.

Christmas morning with family.

Cooking something you love.

Creatively writing a really good piece.

Having a moment of fresh illumination and understanding.

A beautiful garden.

Thanks for reading. Hope we all sleep well tonight!

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:

email:

Powered by NotifyList.com




Email me to leave me comments

<< previous next >>


back to top



Text � copyright 2003 - 2008 The Homespun Philosopher



This site designed by

2008