May 19, 2003 2:06 P.M.

*Non Sequiturs?

* �A thought that has no relevance to what preceded it� (Webster)

Another peaceful moment in Descanso Gardens by the Lilly Pond.

I had one of those rare mornings today. I woke up feeling GREAT!

This just doesn�t happen to me which you already know if you have read my entry of April 23. I went to bed at my usual 11:30 P.M. (before you lecture me, please read the previously referenced entry!)�and I MUST have slept like a baby. Because when I awoke around 8:30, I resisted the usual pangs of guilt for sleeping later than those in the working world, and said to myself, �this is what retirement is all about. You have wanted to sleep-in for years. Enjoy it!� (I have this �guilty" thing�well, that�s another subject. Actually, I dealt with that one too, in my entry of April 3.) I felt rested, the bed felt smooth, cool and inviting. I just wanted to wiggle my toes and stretch out between the sheets. There were no early morning allergy attacks, no aches or pains, no stiffness, and there was a modicum of energy! Amazing! The sun was shining outside, and the temperature - in the low 70�s. Doesn�t get much better than that! So I got up, dressed, made my bed(!), fixed a mug of hot coffee, opened up the windows of the house and�went out for a half hour walk.

I thought I had better write about this, because tomorrow, I won�t believe it ever happened.

I have a quirky mind. It picks up on a word, ..a sentence�or a brief concept�in the midst of a conversation with someone, or when hearing a speaker�or, as you know, in broadcasts or telecasts. My mind grabs one single thought or concept, and I am off on a tangent, extrapolating a whole �teaching� from it (I am a frustrated teacher of philosophical thought. �NO KIDDING!�, you say.) But that is why I am full of non sequiturs. And I love to share them. (Share them or lose them, I say�.)

And that is a great segue into this.

Yesterday was Sunday. A minister was talking about how Jesus continued to teach his followers everything He knew, as long as He was with them. (Well, personally, I doubt that He taught everything HE knew�they couldn�t have taken that in�), but the concept is, that He continued to impart His knowledge to them, until He was gone.

And my mind took off on that; I don�t remember the rest of the sermon.

I was going in all directions in my thoughts, dealing with the importance of imparting whatever of value we have�consistently and faithfully�as long as we are here. It may be knowledge or understanding. It may be artistic giftedness�it may be an ability to love. Whatever.

I almost feel like we should someday enter the doors of death empty handed, - because we have given it all away! Otherwise, it will be lost forever. Perhaps that is what I am trying to do with this journal. Impart my thoughts. I certainly have that in abundance,�whether I am right or wrong.

A friend of mine was fishing in Jackson Hole, WY last year, when another friend went swimming past his boat. He caught this great shot.

Thanks for reading!

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:

email:

Powered by NotifyList.com




Email me to leave me comments

<< previous next >>


back to top



Text � copyright 2003 - 2008 The Homespun Philosopher



This site designed by

2008