May 05, 2003 7:18 P.M.

Scraps of Thought

Often something sparks an illumination in my thoughts and I run to jot it down quickly before I forget it. The result is that I have a spiral notebook with pages of scribbled handwritten �scraps of thought� which I later find almost impossible to transcribe.

Here is a sampling.

Scrap 1: Remember my entry of April 17, �Everybody Has a Story�? Last week I saw a sequel to the original telecast. It seems that this is now a frequent feature on CBS�s �The Early Show�. It is hosted by its originator, Steve Hartman. The concept behind the feature is life changing. This particular day, Steve closed the program by commenting on how the awareness that �everybody has a story� effects casual encounters with strangers. He said, �We sometimes simply �dismiss� people. We see their faces, make a mental judgment, and dismiss them.�

This sounds normal, doesn�t it. But the �they have a story� awareness changes our casual tendency to just dismiss someone out of mind. It colors our response and reaction to him or her.

Scrap 2: I have found a daily radio personality which I consider well worth listening to, as I go through my daily routine. Maybe it is because he is somewhat of a �homespun philosopher� himself, but actually, he is a commentator and moralist who is the author of several books. He broadcasts from a local station in the southern California area, but is syndicated across the country. His name is Dennis Prager. You will occasionally find �Prager� quotes in these entries. He is one of those people who often drop powerful �one-liners� more rapidly than I can write them down.

Each Friday, he has the tradition of setting aside one of his three broadcast hours for �The Happiness Hour�. Some years back he wrote a book entitled �Happiness is a Serious Problem�. This subject is very dear to his heart, and on this show he proposes a thesis which has something to do with the subject of happiness, and discusses it. Last Friday, he was discussing how happiness is often an action, rather than a feeling, and these �one-liners� were zinging their way into my notebook.

�Do what is happy, generous, and loving, and you will become that.�

�Let your feelings be shaped by your behavior, not the other way around.�

�DO, - even if you don�t FEEL. Then you will FEEL.�

�If you act happy, even when you don�t feel it, soon you will feel it.�

�Feelings are important to YOU. Behavior is important to OTHERS.�

�Behavior shapes the heart, even when the heart cannot shape behavior.�

And this last thought, � The more you say �Thank you�, the more grateful you will actually become.�

In all these comments, Dennis was not negating the importance of feelings, but challenging his listeners to �rise above them� and see if the feelings could not be reshaped by personal action.

Counselors frequently use this �behavioral modification therapy� when helping some people with extreme fears and panic disorders. The patients are taken through the feared experiences, and the actions begin to lessen their fear.

Society has had a few decades of �getting in touch with our emotions�. That has been incredibly valuable as we learn about ourselves and others. But it would seem that the pendulum is swinging�now that we are aware of the emotions�to the question of how we choose to act. The first is personally revealing; the second is character forming.

Let me tell you a story. One of those little parables with a kick.

One day a Rabbi, Reb Zusha, died and went to heaven. He stood before God and apologetically said, �God I am so sorry that I was never as great as Moses.�

God replied, �Reb Zusha, I never expected you to be as great as Moses. But you were not as great as Reb Zusha could have been.�

Some experiences in life reveal our character. It is up to us if we use those experiences to improve our character.

Thanks for reading.

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:

email:

Powered by NotifyList.com




Email me to leave me comments

<< previous next >>


back to top



Text � copyright 2003 - 2008 The Homespun Philosopher



This site designed by

2008