May 01, 2003 1:56 P.M.

My Home

Now, lest you think this might be a good area in which to relocate�.after yesterday�s entry.

Let me tell you the downside.

Unless you are moving from one of the more costly areas in California (and there are many), It could be very discouraging to try to purchase a home here.

When we moved (in the early 60�s) from Louisville, Kentucky to the Los Angeles area, we were incredibly naive about the cost of homes here. Only a year or so prior to our move, we had a contractor-friend build us a beautiful little used brick, two level colonial style home. Here, it would have cost four to five times what we paid for it in order to even come close to a similar house.

As you can see, I live in a very modest, 40 year old ranchstyle cottage. I have lived here almost 30 years now, and it was reasonably priced when purchased.

Housing in this area is in great demand and there is never enough available. Houses normally sell within 2 to 3 weeks�sometimes the day they are listed�in this particular neighborhood. Simply because this little area is considered modest and affordable.

The house on the corner of my street listed last month for $419,900.00, and it sold (don�t know the selling price) in 2 weeks. Most of these homes (it is a tract/subdivision) are similar in floor plans, with some being slightly larger or smaller according to the number of bedrooms, etc. But there are few drastic differences. I think it is insane!

So�come to California for a visit�or several. But be prepared for a real shock if you need to purchase a home, unless you are financially blessed. I am just grateful to have been able to remain in my home for many years now.

We had some family members over for dinner on Easter. I don�t entertain very frequently, but holidays are a special time�especially when children are involved. This was the center arrangement on the table, before it was set for eating.

Well, I guess just about anywhere in this great country is the best place to live. I�m thankful!

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:

email:

Powered by NotifyList.com




Email me to leave me comments

<< previous next >>


back to top



Text � copyright 2003 - 2008 The Homespun Philosopher



This site designed by

2008