April 19, 2003 11:54 A.M.

Three �Rs�

Photo by Marcia: Albany, OR backyard of a friend.

The last few days, I have been doing a lot of thinking about three �Rs�. Maybe it is because it is the season of the year when we are surrounded by the effects of all of them. I could expound upon all three, but I�ve been impressed with the need everywhere - for one in particular.

The first �R� is for resurrection. There was One Resurrection which many of us are celebrating tomorrow. Resurrection, of course, implies a previous dying of something or someone.

The second is restoration. And the third, is revival.

Revival: Refreshing of force, validity, or effect (Merriam-Webster Dictionary)

A little over a year ago, I bought a �Dwarf Navel Orange� tree. I replanted it in a large �small tree size�container, and set it on the sunny edge of my patio. I live within �sniffing distance� of a citrus orchard, and when the wind is just right�it is heavenly! Orange blossoms in season are the �nectar of the gods� in my estimation. And it is a fragrance which cannot be artificially reproduced with a purity of scent. At least, not to my satisfaction.

So, for years I have wanted my own orange tree.

It seemed to be very happy in its new home, and spread its branches in all sorts of ungainly positions, blooming (to my delight) several times, and trying, unsuccessfully in its first season, to produce a small crop of fruit.

And then suddenly it �died�. Or so it appeared. Leaves began to curl and were not replaced as they dropped off. Eventually it stood like a stark little black Halloween tree, - a naked silhouette against the sky. (Well, that�s stretching it. It was only about four feet high.) But for months�months!... it looked totally dead.

I just couldn�t bring myself to dispose of it. I cut the limbs way back, but they were brittle and lifeless. Except�for ONE branch. I wasn�t sure about that one, and I didn�t prune it back. I just watched, and waited�

There was a tiny sprout of green! Then a few more buds erupted from the twig�and then full leaves began to proudly line the branch�then another tiny branch began to emerge. It had REVIVED!

It wasn�t resurrected. It had never completely died. It certainly wasn�t restored to its original condition�it has a quirky little shape now.

It was REVIVED.

It was a great little example of what this season is all about. Revival. In our bodies, souls, spirits, finances, families, hopes and dreams�in our nation! None of these areas is �dead�. But it is time for revival in all of them.

And I believe that as we open to that revival, and seek it with our whole hearts, �it will come.

It is the right season, and it is time.

Thanks for reading. Happy Revival!

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:

email:

Powered by NotifyList.com




Email me to leave me comments

<< previous next >>


back to top



Text � copyright 2003 - 2008 The Homespun Philosopher



This site designed by

2008