April 7, 2003

Vignette

Dusk stretched across the barren Iraqi desert and crept into the hastily raised shelter the soldiers had erected for themselves. Bone weary, they had traveled for miles without seeing a sign of life in this inhospitable wilderness.

The men and women hoped to be able to relax their taut nerves enough to get some sleep, no matter how briefly.

Suddenly - they heard what sounded like the fluttering of wings and a small dark figure darted under the tent flap and settled inside. They could hardly believe their eyes.

It was a sparrow!

There was a momentary silence, as though all were holding their breaths. Then out of the shadows a soft, clear voice began singing the words of an old familiar hymn. .

I sing because I�m happy.

Others began to join in�

I sing because, I�m free!

Then strongly�

For His eye is on the sparrow�

And I know, He watches, me!

True Story. I heard it from an eye witness. The sparrow remained all night and flew away in the morning.

Thanks for reading.




Email me to leave me comments

<< previous next >>


back to top



Text � copyright 2003 - 2008 The Homespun Philosopher



This site designed by

2008