April 5, 2003

The Reward

My friend turned to me as she drove, and asked, �What do you write about in a journal. Just the things that are happening in your life from day to day?�

�Some do. But that is not my style. I write how I feel about the things that happen to me. And more to the point, it will normally be about one thing in particular. Perhaps one moment in time.�

You see, a moment is not a minute. It is a �momentous� flash of awareness which imprints itself on my soul, and may contain everything it means to convey. Or it may be only the �start of something big�. It could be the first note of a lovely melody. The first line of a poem.

For me, it normally would be the seed, of a much broader understanding.

I watch for those moments and when they come, I savor them and do all I can to hold them tightly and keep them from slipping through the fingers of my mind.

One way to do that is to become a writer. A writer is a collector of thoughts�but more than that�the writer makes each thought become a living thing. And that living thing emerges from its seed form into the full blown flower of a concept which presents itself as fresh as with morning dew.

The reward of journaling, is that as the writer releases his thoughts, questions, cocooned in mystery, morph into wings of understanding. Problems and their answers seem to flow out of the same source�the writer�s heart and mind. And as he writes...he knows. And as he questions, he understands.

And the greatest reward of all, is that he is enabled to communicate with another soul. That is the reward of a journaler, - a wordsmith.

Thanks for reading! You are my reward.




Email me to leave me comments

<< previous next >>


back to top



Text � copyright 2003 - 2008 The Homespun Philosopher



This site designed by

2008